The Avengers Review

The Avengers just might be the new gold standard for the superhero genre.  More then simply creating a great action movie, writer/director and nerd icon Joss Whedon delivers a well-polished product that succeeds at more then just wowing audiences with spectacular visual effects. Whedon is able to incorporate some witty humor into what would otherwise be a tedious two and a half hours.

The Avengers is the story of the battle for Earth between the evil Demi-god, Loki, and a group of big name superheroes know as, well, The Avengers.  The main challenge with making a movie like this is that is no central character in the film, and instead a cast of iconic characters vying for screen time.  Whedon does a commendable job of incorporate every character, but he fails to properly  develop the characters. The only characters that seem to really develop are those that never received their own movies.

Disregarding some poor character development the main issue I had with this film was the main plot. Despite dynamic action sequences and the frequent laughs, the central conflict isn’t very compelling and seems to offers nothing in terms of originality.  The basic plot of the film is a group of superheroes trying to track down a fairly ambiguous cube called the Tesseract in order to stop an alien invasion.  Even with the solid performances in this movie, I just couldn’t bring myself to care about their mission at all.  As a whole, I was much more interested in the witty banter between characters.

As far as acting in the movie, I’d like to talk about something other then Robert Downey Jr.  He, of course, is great, but at this point I think everyone knows what to expect from him.  I would, however, like to talk about the biggest surprise of the film, Mark Ruffalo.  Although it was pretty lousy of Marvel to replace Edward Norton despite the fact that he wanted to reprise his role, after seeing this movie I completely understand their decision. Ruffalo offers a new take on the character of Bruce Banner, which is refreshing, because, quite frankly, the Edward Norton version was less then stellar.

Ultimately, this movie is definitely worth your watch.  Even if you haven’t seen the five preceding Marvel movies, you will still be able to thoroughly enjoy your time with it, and if you have, there are plenty of small allusions to the previous movies that will please the more dedicated fans.  After seeing Avengers, I have high expectations for what is to come in the upcoming installments to the Marvel franchise.

Rating: 4 out of 5

36 thoughts on “The Avengers Review

  1. MaryAReed May 21, 2012 / 5:42 pm

    I absolutely LOVED this movie, and I agree about Ruffalo. FINALLY they found a great HULK! So awesome. (Love your blog btw! :)).

  2. andrew626 May 22, 2012 / 4:50 pm

    Joss Whedon really knows how to please an audience. Thanks for your support, we are just getting started and it is great to see that people like the content we are putting out.

  3. nicktngp May 23, 2012 / 11:05 pm

    Awesome review Andrew! Couldn’t agree with you more

    • andrew626 May 23, 2012 / 11:06 pm

      Thanks! I really appreciate the support

  4. mrbsure May 29, 2012 / 1:35 pm

    Yeah, everyone was praising Mark Ruffalo before this even came out!

    I think as far as a comic book movie you can’t expect a plot TOO out there and different because it has to be a simple story wonderfully told; that’s how comics have made their name for YEARS.

    I really like your blogs about movies 🙂

    • andrew626 May 29, 2012 / 1:44 pm

      People were very quick to praise him, but I have to say I do really like him as an actor, especially after just recently watching The Brothers Bloom. I think it is interesting how comic book movies are evolving, and I think we will just have to wait and see if its for better. Thanks for the compliment, this is a pretty new blog and we appreciate the support.

  5. mrbsure May 29, 2012 / 1:45 pm

    Good, thanks for the likes on mine too, mine is very new:)

  6. kimberlyaskren May 31, 2012 / 2:09 am

    wow your reviews are way better than mine 🙂 but thanks for checking out my blog too! I like your stuff…and I can’t wait to see what else Marvel puts out in the next few years!!

    • andrew626 May 31, 2012 / 2:15 am

      Haha well thank you for saying that. We appreciate it. I agree, it should be interesting.

  7. rishabhshah0330 June 2, 2012 / 6:11 pm

    Reblogged this on It Makes Sense and commented:
    Truelu, I didn’t bother to think keep trck of the mission. The action, effects and characters were just too engrossing!!

  8. Ankan Bose June 9, 2012 / 1:05 pm

    I loved avengers and i absolutely enjoyed the scene where the Hulk thrashes Loki 😛

  9. marjoriekaye June 10, 2012 / 2:35 am

    Spot on Andrew, and I agree Ruffalo’s performance really adds something to the character.

    • andrew626 June 10, 2012 / 2:37 am

      Thank you, always glad to have people reading our reviews!

  10. sirenscalling June 10, 2012 / 3:57 am

    I hadn’t seen that the director was Joss until the credits, but it completely makes sense. His forte is laughter. Even amongst all the awesome action scenes, it was the banter that made this movie worthwhile. This was also true of Firefly/Serenity, which I watch all the time simply because it’s hilarious.

    There’s only so far they could’ve effectively taken the plot. Comics in and of themselves are generally simple. So, since this line of movies is so heavily based on comics, it makes sense that the plot itself was not the aspect that this movie is praised for. That said, for the type of movie this is I think it deserves 4.5 to 5 stars. The problem with rating movies is you have to compare it to other movies of the same sort. However, I admit my rating is slightly biased by my love of comedies and comics.
    On a side note! I definitly agree with you about the casting of Ruffalo as the Hulk. He brought something more to the character. And, in all honesty, Norton was just too pretty for the part.

    • andrew626 June 10, 2012 / 4:08 am

      First off, I would like to thank you for writing the longest and most thought out comment yet. For me, the reason it didn’t get 4.5 stars is because the first 10-15 minutes or so felt somewhat out of place with the rest of the movie, and not up to par with the rest of the movie. Don’t get me wrong, I loved this movie as a whole, and Joss Whedon is great, but after seeing the movie as many times as I ended up seeing (which is more then I’d care to admit), you begin to notice room for improvement that you didn’t see the first time around. Anyways, thanks for visiting our blog and I appreciate your comment very much!

      • sirenscalling June 10, 2012 / 4:16 am

        I salute you for watching it that many times in such a small window since it’s been released. Then again, I don’t really remember when it was really released xD it takes forever for movies to get here, which is a con to living in the middle of freaking nowhere, especially since I LOVE watching movies, and am always super opinionated about them. Looking forward to more reviews 😀 when I see your review for a movie I’ve seen, I’ll offer my opinion on it!

      • andrew626 June 10, 2012 / 4:18 am

        I am glad to hear it. Thanks for the support.

  11. thinkwithsynapses June 10, 2012 / 6:22 pm

    Hey! Thanks for liking my post on The Avengers! I see you picked up some points, that bothered me as well. It’s still a nice movie to watch and I agree on Mark Ruffalo. I loved the witty exchanges Banner had with Stark, if only there had been more interesting conversations like these between the main characters.

  12. cgjohnston June 10, 2012 / 7:16 pm

    I loved the Avengers, too! I loved all the “witty repartee” between the characters. I was definitely surprised and impressed with Mark Ruffalo’s portrayal of Bruce Banner – he was excellent in the role. I also agree with sirenscalling about the plot of the film. Essentially the plot of superhero movies is pretty much the same – good vs evil, it was the characters and their interaction that really made this movie immensely enjoyable. I adore Robert Downey Jr.,, but I especially liked Scarlett Johannsen as the Black Widow – her steely, tough, dry wit at the start of the film was top rate.

    Thanks for the post!

    • Andrew King June 10, 2012 / 7:31 pm

      You know, I did not like her in that as much as I thought I would. And Jeremy Renner seemed a little flat as well. that being said, the wit was a highlight and maybe in the future I would like to see a villain that actually sympathetic or complex rather then just “evil”.

  13. Maia June 13, 2012 / 1:57 am

    I haven’t watched “The Avengers” yet but I’m going to soon, thanks to your post! I loved all the other five preceding movies and can’t wait to see for myself the “witty banter” you said, between the characters. I know Robert Downey, Jr. as Tony Stark beat all the others with his punch lines in “Iron Man,” and I’ll be checking who does it as good, if not better, as he did in “The Avengers.” 🙂 Thanks by the way, for liking my post. I really appreciate it!

    • Andrew King June 13, 2012 / 2:21 am

      I am sure you will like it. It is a very solid, well written film.

  14. ashasuparna June 14, 2012 / 7:13 pm

    “Puny God.”

  15. techsnoop June 16, 2012 / 12:49 am

    Great review. I agree Mark Ruffalo did a superb job as Hulk and this is the new standard of superhero movies. Thanks for stopping by Smutty Chronicles and liking us.

  16. David Halliday June 16, 2012 / 6:08 pm

    Good review. I was bored with The Avengers. I’m getting tired of all these comic book films. Since everything is possible, nothing is unexpected. The story lines are becoming too predictable.

  17. greercn June 18, 2012 / 5:31 pm

    Nice review, Andrew and thanks for liking mine. I am still surprised by how many people see this movie as a military statement. I just see it as a gorgeous romp that makes me love the Avengers even more.

    • Andrew King June 18, 2012 / 5:34 pm

      Funny you mention that, I actually read an interesting article about how the U.S. Army is going to be careful with who they help with movies after Avengers, apparently they didn’t like the way they were portrayed in the film.

      • greercn June 18, 2012 / 6:17 pm

        Fascinating! So you can annoy a lot of the people a lot of the time, just by trying to bring some reality to an action movie! I still adore this film. It amazed me and I love being amazed.

  18. Carina Browder June 21, 2012 / 10:58 pm

    Great review. Spot on about Ruffalo, his self-depreciating Bruce Banner has to be one of my favorite interpretations of the Hulk. And his banter with Tony was great. Have you heard the news that they’re trying to find a way to incorporate Andrew Garfield’s Peter Parker/Spider-Man in the sequel?

    • Andrew King June 21, 2012 / 11:26 pm

      I had not heard that, but I have to say I am not a fan of that idea, from what I have seen I don’t have very high hopes for that character.

      • Carina Browder June 22, 2012 / 12:26 am

        I would have to agree. Hopefully Garfield proves me wrong.

  19. EverydayGirl June 30, 2012 / 12:25 pm

    Excellent review. Agreed in some places, a little less in others.

    Mark Ruffalo was amazing, but you can see him get ready to be Banner by watching 13 Going on 30. (Really. Compare Matty to Banner and you’ll see the same steely determination to do what’s right at the bottom of a conflicted soul.) Ruffalo as HULK was far more impressive to me; any actor who can make a CG-character feel real is, in my opinion, amazing.

    I wasn’t thrilled with Johanssen and agree that Renner was flat in this movie. I just watched Thor for the first time and thought his brief scene in that was a far better portrayal of the character than in Avengers. Maybe he’ll get a better storyline next time.

    The other characters, largely, didn’t grab me or toss me overboard, although Samuel L Jackson seemed to be trying too hard. The script, full of clever repartee, lacked polish in the storyline, but was passable as a comic book.

    Whedon has always excelled at taking a cast of characters and meshing them together (Firefly, Buffy, Angel, Dr Horrible’s Sing Along Blog). He takes very strong personalities and somehow blends them in a way few other directors do well. He also has an eye for the comic book/ science fiction genre that worked well.

    I’d watch an Avengers II long before I’d watch another film about any of these characters on their own (with the possible exception of a good film about Hawk). Hopefully they’ll keep the cast and director for any sequels.

    • Andrew King July 2, 2012 / 2:01 pm

      All and all, it was a pretty solid film. Not much to complain about other then what you touched on. I personally didn’t like Thor much, and as a result didn’t pay to much attention to it I suppose. Thanks for reading.

  20. RDoug July 9, 2012 / 1:26 pm

    I see we both came to pretty much the same conclusions on this one. I, too, gave it a somewhat tepid 4 out of possible 5, and for the same reasons.

Leave a Reply

