Andrew’s Favorite Films of 2012 (So Far)

2012 is almost halfway over, and it seems timely to put up a short list of my favorite movies from the first half out the year. It is important to mention that I am not saying these are the best movies to come out so far, they are just the three films I have enjoyed the most. Feel free to leave your opinions in the comments.

3. Bernie

The most recent film by director Richard Linklater, Bernie tells the true story of small town funeral Bernie Tiede and his relationship with a rich widow, Marjorie Nugent. Funny, smart, and simple, this movie perfectly captures the small town feel of Carthage, Texas while raising some interesting moral questions about justice.  In addition, Jack Black’s portrayal of Bernie Tiede is probably the best role he has had in his entire career.

2. Cabin in the Woods

This is just my kind of movie. In Joss Whedon’s mock horror movie, five oblivious teens take a vacation to a cabin in the woods that goes horribly wrong. A wonderful twist on the classic horror story, this movie offers plenty of laughs, great dialogue and does a perfect job of paying homage to the horror genre while having a few laughs at its expense.

1. Oslo, August 31st

Maybe a controversial pick for my number one, but Oslo, August 31st is just a fantastic film. This Norwegian movie shows a day in the life of a recovering drug addict as he leaves his rehab center to meet with old friends and acquaintances in Olso. A visually impressive and personal film, Oslo, August 31st is a well thought out look at addiction and the effect it really has on an individual and those around him.

Most Anticipated Film of 2012: Looper

The third film from writer and director Rian Johnson, Looper, is my most anticipated movie of the year. After multiple viewings of Brick and The Brothers Bloom, I have grown to love Rian Johnson’s unique directorial style, and I am confident that he will do great things with Looper. The strong cast and kick-ass trailer have further added to my excitement for this film, and I have high hopes that this film will turn out to be spectacular.

27 thoughts on “Andrew’s Favorite Films of 2012 (So Far)

  1. Lily Wight June 18, 2012 / 8:22 pm

    I LOVED Cabin In The Woods! I haven’t seen the other two, I’m not sure that they have been released in the UK, I’m a Jack Black fan so thanks for the tip on that one. I certainly agree with you about Looper! The work to “Willisize” JGL is weird but strangely effective!

    • Andrew King June 18, 2012 / 8:29 pm

      Should be a good one, thanks for stopping by!

  2. rochpikey June 19, 2012 / 1:27 am

    YES! I have been saying Looper will be amazing since I first saw the trailer back in May or so. It is crazy how much JGL looks like a younger Willis almost as good as Brolin looked liked Tommy Lee Jones is MIB 3. Very cool idea and am really excited to see JGL reunited with Rian Johnson.

    • Andrew King June 19, 2012 / 1:41 am

      I think JGL has really grown as an actor since Brick, and I am really interested in seeing what Rian Johnson will do with an action film.

  3. Paganostaghetti June 19, 2012 / 3:02 am

    Looper is so definitely one of my top anticipated films. Rian Johnson is such an under-appreciated director, and I’m hoping with this film he gets the attention he deserves. And Joseph Gordon Levitt is consistently delivering great performances. I still haven’t seen any of the three movies you selected for your favourites, but I definitely have been interested in seeing them all, especially Cabin in the Woods. I’ll definitely see it when it comes out on Blu-ray.

    • Andrew King June 19, 2012 / 5:34 pm

      I would recommend all of the movies on that list, Oslo might be a little hard to find but the other two are movies that I think most people would enjoy and be able to find at a local theater or on Blu-ray.

  4. Matt On China June 19, 2012 / 5:39 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog Andrew. I haven’t seen any of these but will definitely check out Oslo as it seems to be right up my alley.

    • Andrew King June 19, 2012 / 5:44 pm

      It is a really cool movie, I liked it a lot. Thanks for commenting.

  5. ruth June 19, 2012 / 6:10 pm

    I’ve never even heard of ‘Oslo, August 31st’ before this, so thanks for the tip, might check that one out.

    • Andrew King June 19, 2012 / 6:45 pm

      It is probably not a movie that everyone will love as much as I did, but I really enjoyed it and it stuck with me.

  6. Austin Bishop June 19, 2012 / 10:57 pm

    Looper is one of the movies that I can’t wait to see. Though there are too many to count at this point.

    • Andrew King June 19, 2012 / 10:59 pm

      Pretty much every great director has a movie coming out. Should be a banner year for good movies.

  7. Einarr's language log June 21, 2012 / 7:28 pm

    Oslo, 31-st August is definitely a breakthrough in the Norwegian cinema. I literally was jumping out of happiness when I got the chance to finally watch it, after all that wait. Definitely a must – see. Though one ought not to forget Joachim Trier’s other try – Reprise being exceptionally good as well.

    • Andrew King June 21, 2012 / 7:42 pm

      I have not yet had a chance to see Reprise, but on your recommendation I may have to watch it. I am glad I’m not the only one who has seen Oslo, I was beginning to feel that way until you came along.

      • Andrew King June 22, 2012 / 1:47 pm

        I will definitely look into it after seeing most of that trailer. It looks like it would be my kind of movie.

  8. Gregoryno6 June 23, 2012 / 9:25 pm

    Thanks for the heads up on Looper. Brick was a great film, built on a great idea – Sam Spade in high school.
    Speaking of Brick, where’s the lovely Norah Zehetner these days?

    • Andrew King June 25, 2012 / 4:24 pm

      I couldn’t tell you. But JGL is still around, and I am just happy about that.

  9. Franz Patrick July 7, 2012 / 9:00 pm

    Anders Danielsen Lie convinced me that he’s one to look out for since “Reprise” and I’m looking forward to “Oslo, August 31st.” It sounds like a drama with a lot of meat in it. I love those.

    • Andrew King July 8, 2012 / 12:31 am

      I am still yet to see Reprise. If it is as good as people say, I will likely be compelled to review it soon.

  10. Costas Taliadoros July 23, 2012 / 12:57 pm

    I watched Oslo, 31 August last night based on your recommendation.

    Top film!

    • Andrew King July 23, 2012 / 4:21 pm

      I am so glad to see other people enjoy it, I haven’t seen people talking all that much about this movie so I was concerned that I may be one of only a small number of people who loved it. Always glad to share a great movie.

  11. littlebells September 9, 2012 / 3:31 am

    I just watched “Bernie” the other evening and I loved it. I am a huge Shirley MacLaine fan, but was really impressed with jack Black. What an incredible story. I enjoyed the documentary style and story telling. Mr. Black gave a wonderful performance and really made me feel for Bernie Tidei. I would strongly recommend it to your readers.

    • Andrew King September 10, 2012 / 1:43 am

      I completely agree. It really is a wonderful and earnest film.

  12. michaelanson September 9, 2012 / 11:45 pm

    I will definitely add “Bernie” and “Oslo” to my must-see netflix list. Probably, “Cabin in the Woods” would not appeal to me, but thanks for the recommendations.

    • Andrew King September 10, 2012 / 1:43 am

      It isn’t for everyone, but it is a really cool subversion of horror movies, and really damn funny. Oslo doesn’t have a DVD release that I know of right now, but I assume it will soon.

      • littlebells September 10, 2012 / 9:44 pm

        If u have netflix, u can add it. My poor queue is exploding!

Leave a Reply

