Joe’s Favorite Films of 2012 (So Far)

Because I know you’re all waiting with bated breath, here’s my top three must-sees this year:

3. The Grey

Call me what you will, but there’s something about Liam Neeson’s latest teeth-grinding grit-fest that stuck with me. Director Joe Carnahan has taken the rather tired plane crash survival premise and created a film that will have you genuinely rooting for the world-weary protagonist and his cohorts. Neeson brings his best to this role with the type of raw performance we haven’t seen from him since Schindler’s List. 

2. Prometheus

While my fellow film-critic extraordinaires had some negative things to say about Ridley Scott’s Alien prequel, I’ll go up to bat for a movie that brought some much-needed energy to the big screen this year. Some truly golden performances from Michael Fassbender and Idris Elba, in addition to Scott’s directorial prowess, push Prometheus over the threshold of the standard, big-budget CGI thriller into definite Oscar territory.

1. Cabin In The Woods

What else can be said about Joss Whedon’s jaw dropping new homage to the slasher flick? With a stellar cast, dynamite script and some moments of sheer ironic brilliance, there’s not much you can knock about what could be one of the best films of the year. In a genre of film that lacks originality, Whedon has, as always, pushed the creative bar higher than ever.

Most Anticipated: The Hobbit

Peter Jackson’s back to once again bring Middle Earth to the silver screen in my most anticipated of the year. If nothing else, I’m excited to see Martin Freeman step outside of The Office to portray one of literature’s greatest epic heroes. Young Bilbo will be surrounded by a cast that includes the return of Sir Ian McKellan as Gandalf the Grey. Look for it this December in wide release.

15 thoughts on “Joe’s Favorite Films of 2012 (So Far)

  1. Nader Nazemi June 19, 2012 / 10:54 pm

    Can’t wait to watch The Hobbit.

    I am following this blog.

    • Joe Holley June 19, 2012 / 10:58 pm

      It’ll be interesting to see if it holds up to the original trilogy. Thanks for reading!

  2. rochpikey June 20, 2012 / 12:28 am

    The top three definitely line up with mine. I think a lot of people are quick to toss the Avengers in there which was a great movie but these three stand out in my mind more when I think movies so far in 2012.

    • Joe Holley June 20, 2012 / 12:50 am

      I did enjoy Avengers, though I’m not sure it’s deserving of anything more than the massive amounts of money it made. I’m surprised how little love The Grey received from critics. Appreciate the comment!

  3. Joe Holley June 20, 2012 / 12:48 am

    I did enjoy Avengers, but I’m not sure it’s deserving of anything more than the massive amounts of money it made. I’m surprised how little love The Grey has received from critics. Appreciate the comment!

  4. Sam June 20, 2012 / 12:25 pm

    Nice list :). I actually never got around to seeing The Grey, which irritates me the more I read about it, haha. Definitely agree with the love for Cabin in the Woods, currently my second favourite film of the year behind Moonrise Kingdom 🙂

    • Joe Holley June 20, 2012 / 5:41 pm

      Haven’t had the chance to see Moonrise as of yet, but it looks to be one of Wes Anderson’s best. The Grey was deserving of much more acclaim than it received. Thanks for reading!

      • Sam June 20, 2012 / 6:24 pm

        May have to check out The Grey soon then :). Ah, Moonrise was my first Anderson film actually, served as quite the introduction.

  5. cross(stitch)yourheart June 20, 2012 / 2:02 pm

    I can’t wait for The Hobbit to come out, I hope the movie version lives up to the trilogy and its book, although that’s a lot to ask from a movie…from what I’ve heard about it I have high expectations though.

    The Grey was a much better movie than I expected, I wish it had gotten a little more publicity because it really is a lot more than just a “man-gets-stranded-and-fights-wolves” movie.

    • Joe Holley June 20, 2012 / 5:46 pm

      It’ll be a long six moths to wait, but hopefully Peter Jackson won’t let us down. The Grey was a surprisingly refreshing take on the plane crash concept. Thanks for the comment!

  6. Missey Twisted June 20, 2012 / 11:58 pm

    The Hobbit is the only film I am looking forward to watching in theatres this year. We might go watch the new Spiderman flick.

  7. moviemetropolisadmin June 21, 2012 / 7:30 pm

    I thought The Grey was fantastic. I gave it an exceptionally good review on my own blog and agree with all your thoughts here! Fantastic post!

  8. mikeballenger2011 June 22, 2012 / 7:17 pm

    I loved The Grey and the poem/ end scene was fking awesome. I am not to sure Taken 2 will be good, Hollywood should leave well ehough alone sometimes. Nice Post!

  9. Franz Patrick July 7, 2012 / 8:54 pm

    “The Grey” made my heart palpitate as if I were doing intense cardio (and I do a lot of it!). Good stuff.

    I completely agree with you about “Prometheus.” Its ambition was so bright, I didn’t care much about the unexplained.

  10. alleyandthemovies July 26, 2012 / 5:59 pm

    I finally found someone who loved The Grey as much as I do. It’s raw, honest, powerful, and makes you feel a smorgasbord of emotions. One of the best films I have seen in my entire life.

Leave a Reply

