Gabriel’s Favorite Films of 2012 (So Far)

As the third illustrious member of our merry crew, I’m expected to give you lovely people my three favorite movies of the year, and being the responsible man that I am I’m going to do exactly that. So prepare your minds for some genuine cinematic excellence, and remember to leave all of your comments below.

3. The Cabin in the Woods

There are few films I can say just fill me with pure joy. They reduce me to a state of unadulterated glee from which nothing can take me. Cabin in the Woods is one of these films. It may at first seem like a generic slasher flick, but in reality, it’s one of the most imaginative, creative, and brilliant horror film I’ve seen in years. There’s little more I can say other than that I left the theatre with a smile plastered to my face and in utter awe.

2. Monsieur Lazhar

Monsieur Lazhar is a film about death and the ways we deal with it. It shows us a fourth grade class dealing with the cryptic suicide of their homeroom teacher, and Bachir Lazhar, who takes it upon himself to replace that said teacher. At first glance this may seem like the typical teacher-saves-troubled-kids movie, but it’s much more than that. There is an irrefutable emotional reality here that gives it a profundity found in very few films. I just couldn’t help but be drawn into this touching and beautiful portrait of grief.

1. Once Upon a Time in Anatolia

I will not deny the fact that this is a difficult film. At a goliath two and a half hours, it’s hard to imagine how this movie could be worth it. But, I assure you that this will be hands down the greatest experience you will have all year. Under the guise of a conventional police procedural this is actually a remarkable exploration of truth and perception in the face of a morally gray world. Nuri Bilge Ceylan, the director, gives us a film that, on a purely visual level, may even surpass Prometheus. Sure it’s challenging, it’s slow, it’s long, it’s obtuse, but I do not doubt for a moment that the reward is worth the challenge. So if you feel up to it you won’t be disappointed, and if you don’t, well, you’re missing something truly amazing.

Most Anticipated: The Master

Paul Thomas Anderson ranks among my favorite directors of all time. For a reason look no further than his incredible filmography. He’s responsible for masterpieces such as There Will Be Blood, Punch-Drunk Love, and Boogie Nights, and now he wants to make a film about Scientology. Not to mention that he’s casting Philip Seymour Hoffman as a pseudo-L. Ron Hubbard. So, in summation, P. T. Anderson: please take my money now.

19 thoughts on “Gabriel’s Favorite Films of 2012 (So Far)

  1. Eric Paolini June 21, 2012 / 2:48 am

    Absolutely agree with the Cabin in the Woods assessment. I didn’t want to see it based on the trailer, but then I started to hear good things. Has borderline genius moments. My excitement for Django Unchained is only a little more than my excitement for PTA’s return.

    • Gabriel Vogel June 21, 2012 / 1:33 pm

      Thanks. Yeah, there’s just so much to love about Cabin in the Woods. It’s a wonderful film. I’m also really excited for Django, but The Master’s trailer just looks too good to ignore.

  2. Paul Marino June 21, 2012 / 10:41 am

    Mr Lahzar makes my list. Cabin – eh. Interesting I suppose. I have yet to see Once pon a Rime. Check out Ralph Fiennes’ Coriolanus.

    • Gabriel Vogel June 21, 2012 / 2:01 pm

      Yeah, I’ve heard of Coriolanus but never had the chance to check it out. It looks interesting. You should really see Once Upon a Time in Anatolia. It’s brilliant. Definitely worth a watch.

      • Paul Marino June 21, 2012 / 7:05 pm

        I have it on my To Watch list. Thanks

    • Gabriel Vogel June 28, 2012 / 8:05 pm

      Thanks a lot. Your list is very enlightening. It’s filled with quite a few movies I haven’t seen, but they all look interesting and definitely worth checking out. I’m especially interested in the new Coppola film. It’s good to hear it doesn’t disappoint.

  3. Franz Patrick July 7, 2012 / 8:51 pm

    It pisses me off how “Once Upon a Time in Anatolia” is under “Very Long Wait.” You haven’t been keeping the DVD, have you? 😉

      • Gabriel Vogel July 8, 2012 / 6:58 pm

        You got me. I’ve been holding out on everyone. I’m sorry. It’s just too good to let go.

  4. Christel July 10, 2012 / 5:20 pm

    I completely agree with what you said about Cabin in the Woods. It was the best horror movie I’ve seen in a long time!

  5. kellyrtillson July 23, 2012 / 1:51 am

    I’m so glad Anatolya is in here. SO brilliant.

    • Gabriel Vogel July 23, 2012 / 1:55 am

      I’m glad there’s someone else out there who’s seen it. It’s such an incredible film. It’d be a shame if no one saw it.

      • kellyrtillson July 23, 2012 / 2:02 am

        The independent Belcourt Theatre here in Nashville, TN (now the only Nashville theatre not gone all-digital) showed it a few months ago, thank the Lord. The friends who went with me and I talked about it for weeks and weeks afterwards. I hoped it showed other places in the country as well but have no idea.

      • kellyrtillson July 23, 2012 / 2:02 am

        The independent Belcourt Theatre here in Nashville, TN (now the only Nashville theatre not gone all-digital) showed it a few months ago, thank the Lord. The friends who went with me and I talked about it for weeks and weeks afterwards. I hoped it showed other places in the country as well but have no idea.

        If you’re a fan of Middle Eastern film you should check out the films of Bahman Ghobadi, a Kurdish director, and also the Iranian film Children of Heaven.

      • Gabriel Vogel July 23, 2012 / 2:15 am

        Yeah, it’s a shame how hard it is to find a lot of these foreign films, but it’s incredibly satisfying when you find a good one you’ve been looking for. I’ll definitely check out those movies you recommended. I’m a bit lacking when it comes to middle eastern films, but hopefully I can remedy that soon enough.

Leave a Reply

