Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted Review

It seems like today whenever people watch a movie they are looking for some kind of deeper meaning.  What does this film say about morality? How does this movie make me re-evaluate who I am as a person? Although it is great when movies provide insightful ideas about the human condition, there is a lot to be said for movies that are just downright fun.  It may not be a movie that is very thought provoking, but Madagascar 3 is the most fun I’ve had watching a movie in a long time.

After leaving Africa and going to Monte-Carlo, the gang of four unlikely animals and their friends join a traveling circus in an attempt to return to New York and escape the evil animal control officer, Chantal Dubois.  The usual all-star cast is back, featuring Ben Stiller and the always-funny Chris Rock, along with some new additions including Bryan Cranston and Martin Short, who notably voices the funniest recent addition to the animal crew.  With a cast like this, as well as some really top-notch comedic writing, Madagascar 3 doesn’t disappoint.

After having mixed feelings about the first two Madagascar films, I expected more of the same from the third installment, but as soon as this movie started, I knew I was in for a treat.  While most series seem to tire out by the third installment, Madagascar 3 just might be the best film of the bunch.  While the films have always been a little nonsensical, Madagascar 3 throws caution to the wind, ridiculously ignoring any kind of seriousness or even basic physics, while comically poking fun at that fact all along the way.

If there is one complaint I have about this movie, it’s that the laughs trail off a little bit in the third act.  While serious is not a word I would use to describe the later parts of the film, it certainly shifts the focus to developing the plot.  Even though the ending was a little sappy and predictable, it was nice to see that the characters actually showed a bit of emotional growth by the end, and ultimately that’s all you can really ask for in a family film like this.

While it never really reaches the prowess of something like Toy Story, and even though this isn’t likely to become a classic animated film, it’s probably the best movie going experience I have had in a while.  No matter how old you are, I would recommend this movie; even though there’s a pretty good chance you’ll feel ridiculous laughing out loud at a movie that was made for six year olds who think lions are cool.

Rating: 4 out of 5

12 thoughts on “Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted Review

  1. Vinay July 4, 2012 / 2:05 am

    Reblogged this on mukta manassu and commented:
    A good review which definitely inspires me to watch this movie very soon 🙂

    • Andrew King July 4, 2012 / 6:31 am

      I would do it sooner rather then later so you don’t miss it. The 3D wasn’t bad either which was nice. Thanks for the reblog.

      • Vinay July 4, 2012 / 4:01 pm

        Yup! I am booking the tickets for the movie soon.. Always a pleasure to share a good article.. I liked ur review, thanks 🙂

  2. Franz Patrick July 7, 2012 / 8:40 pm

    I’m a sucker for movies aimed for kids and I’ll definitely catch this some time.

    • Andrew King July 8, 2012 / 12:31 am

      I really liked it. Best kids movie I have seen since Toy Story 3, not that they are at all comparable though.

  3. Radu Ştefan RS July 9, 2012 / 9:50 pm

    I’m certainly gonna see this movie sometime in the folowing days… It really seems to be a fun film, just like the other two. You have a very powerfull review! Congrats!

    • Andrew King July 9, 2012 / 10:01 pm

      It’s a good one. Maybe not Oscar worthy for animated feature, but loads of fun.

  4. Elizabeth July 10, 2012 / 10:41 pm

    How interesting. I didn’t really like the movie when I saw it with my 6-year old. The sad thing is, she didn’t really like it either. Usually those types of movies crack her up and she spends hours talking about her favorite parts. This one didn’t move her in that direction at all. Maybe I’ll have to watch it again and see if I can see what you did in it.

    • Andrew King July 10, 2012 / 11:07 pm

      When I saw this I have to say, I noticed not a lot of people were laughing as much as I was. I may be making an assumption, but it seemed to me the adults who didn’t enjoy it were the ones who took little kids who didn’t enjoy it. Meanwhile, most people without small kids seemed to find it very enjoyable. It is a kids movie that a lot of kids may not like, because it has a lot of jokes with references younger kids wouldn’t understand.

      • Elizabeth July 11, 2012 / 12:08 am

        That could be the case. I will definitely try again without my daughter. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

