Magic Mike Review

There are two groups of people who went to go see Magic Mike in theaters, the throngs of women wanting to see shirtless celebrities dance around, and the small minority of people like me who went because the movie looked interesting or had a good director.  After seeing the film, I think I can safely say that I enjoyed it more then many of the teenage girls at my showing, because when you strip away the gimmick of this film (no pun intended), it is a movie about the dangers of fame, egotism, and most of all, one man’s struggle to start a custom furniture business.

After meeting Adam (Alex Pettyfer) at a construction job, Mike (Channing Tatum) takes him under his wing and shows him the perks that come along with a job as a performer in a male revue.  Although the marketing campaign focused heavily on this aspect of the film, it is actually a movie with a lot of substance, and could easily be compared to a film like Boogie Nights, both thematically and even on a plot level in some regards.  Additionally, I was surprised at how well written and funny this film, not just from Channing Tatum who has proved himself as a gifted comedic actor in 21 Jump Street, but also Pettyfer in his initially awkward attempts to pick up women or explain his new career path to his sister.

Unfortunately, for me the biggest issue with this film was not its content, or even the slightly unsatisfying ending that I actually enjoyed, but the casting of Cody Horn as Adam’s sister as well as the central love interest in the film.  Horn, who is relatively new to the world of acting, apparently decided the key to success is to take a page out of the Kristen Stewart School of Acting and remain completely flat and monotonous for the entire film.  Even Tatum, who was such an onscreen presence, failed to salvage many of the one-on-one scenes in this film.

Now, before you run out and see this movie just because I thought it was good, I think it is important to take this review with a grain of salt.  I fully acknowledge that this film is not for everyone, many people will not be able to get past the fact that this movie does feature male strippers, but I would wager that a fair about of people wont enjoy the actual plot of the movie, as one later in the film you see a previously likably character spiral downwards towards a world of selfishness and depravity, again, much like Boggie Nights.  I thought the ending of this film was satisfactory, but I will admit it does not completely resolve the film, although not to worry, talks of a sequel are already in the works.  If none of this perturbs you from wanting to watch this movie, you really should see it its quite good.

Rating: 4 out of 5

21 thoughts on “Magic Mike Review

  1. platformpieces July 13, 2012 / 12:27 pm

    Interesting – who knew there was such substance behind those posters!

    • Andrew King July 13, 2012 / 1:09 pm

      It is understandable I suppose. They would have had a much harder time trying to advertise it to men, so they sort of gave up on that with the poster and trailers, which is to bad, it is actually a good move in its own right.

  2. theundergroundmultiplex July 13, 2012 / 3:20 pm

    Only two groups of people who would want to see this film? uh…are we forgetting….

    gay men
    gay men
    gay men?

    Did I mention gay men?

    Promotion of this movie has been all over gay culture websites like white on rice.

    • Andrew King July 13, 2012 / 4:32 pm

      Haha true of course, but I feel like this film has already gotten enough attention on that front, and I didn’t include that because people seem to have branded this as a movie for gay men and women when really it is a movie everyone could honestly enjoy.

      • theundergroundmultiplex July 13, 2012 / 4:40 pm

        That’s a fair enough assertion. One of the reasons I mention this is the astute point writer Nico Lang makes in a recent podcast of Pod People. Hollywood dismisses women and gay men as moviegoers and doesn’t normally target them unless they are sure the money’s there.

      • Andrew King July 13, 2012 / 4:58 pm

        Exactly, it is like I said in an earlier comment, it would be difficult to sell most straight male movie goers on this premise so it seems like they didn’t even try for that audience. Which is to bad, it really is a good film, and ridiculous that people call it a “gay” movie because it is actually a very heterosexual movie when you get right down to it.

  3. JennyExiled July 13, 2012 / 7:21 pm

    Cody Horn was definitely the weak link for me. As she got more screen time as the film moved towards its conclusion, I got more and more bored. It could have been a much better film with a different leading lady, as many of the smaller character roles were fantastic and Tatum did an adequate job as the male lead.

    • Andrew King July 13, 2012 / 7:26 pm

      I personally love Channing Tatum after seeing 21 Jump Street, and really her role could have been played by most anyone else, but I really think she didn’t have any charisma at all.

      • JennyExiled July 13, 2012 / 7:28 pm

        I don’t love Channing Tatum. And maybe that’s the problem, as it’s very much his film.

      • Andrew King July 13, 2012 / 7:32 pm

        That is true, I do feel like he adding a lot to this movie as far as the actual content as he was a male stripper. I have to say though, if for whatever reason you haven’t seen 21 Jump Street, that may just change your opinion of him, I know it did for me.

  4. Christopher Cross July 14, 2012 / 2:57 am

    Probably going to see this very soon. Had my doubts but it seems to be getting great critical reception. Glad to see it, though the last film of Soderbergh’s that received good ratings was Haywire, and I didn’t enjoy that at all. But I do like Channing Tatum and this movie is obviously different.

    • Andrew King July 14, 2012 / 1:24 pm

      To be honest, I didn’t enjoy Haywire very much either. Although I see the merit in that film, I just really didn’t care for it. But Mike is good, definitely check it out.

  5. Christel July 14, 2012 / 8:32 pm

    I have seen it like half an hour ago and I completely agree. The ending was very unsatisfactory but therefore actually refreshing! And the story around all the stripping was much better than I had expected!

    • Andrew King July 14, 2012 / 8:35 pm

      It was very plot driven, which was nice. I thought the ending really worked, mainly because of the way he had done abrupt cuts throughout the movie.

  6. robotvampireproductions July 15, 2012 / 11:53 pm

    I’ve recently been watching the show White Collar and CodyHorn had a guest starring role in Season 2. Magic Mike was the first thing I had seen her in and I thought she was dull. Same with White Collar. The girl is wooden. I don’t get why Soderbegh would put her in his movie. Sure, he makes odd choices from time to time but they usually pay off – like Gina Carano in Haywire. This was just a bad choice in an otherwise good film.

    • Andrew King July 16, 2012 / 1:15 am

      I agree. I can think of tons of better people who could have filled that role. It was pretty disappointing.

  7. astroboyisagirl July 17, 2012 / 3:48 pm

    apparently decided the key to success is to take a page out of the Kristen Stewart School of Acting and remain completely flat and monotonous for the entire film >>>> ohmygosh that’s what my movie buddy and I said, too! well, in our language haha but yeah, we were like, “Uh…Kristen Stewart, is that you?!”

    • Andrew King July 17, 2012 / 4:23 pm

      Although that is not completely fair of me to say, I did actually like Kristen Stewart in Adventureland, I think she did a good job in that, but Cody Horn was barely a person in this movie.

  8. Courtney August 15, 2012 / 10:45 pm

    I didn’t think that the film was that great at all, although Channing did play the erotic role well. I laughed when I read the description towards Cody’s acting..very true, not the best actress at all.

    • Andrew King August 15, 2012 / 11:08 pm

      I’ll admit, like quite a bit of Soderbergh’s stuff this got pretty mixed reactions from people. But even though we have different opinions, at least you seemed to get something out of the review.

      • Courtney August 16, 2012 / 3:06 am

        It was very well said about Cody’s acting skills, though I don’t agree with your rating, I do respect people’s opinions.

Leave a Reply

