Goon Review

In my ongoing search to find quality movies that may have been overlooked by the viewing public for one reason or another, I stumbled across Goon.  First and foremost, I was shocked that this movie didn’t find much of an audience upon its release.  It has everything you could want in a film, great writing, wonderful characters with endearing Canadian accents, sports, lots of laughs, romance and plenty of thoroughly enjoyable, good old-fashioned fist fighting.  More then that, after seeing this movie I gained a new appreciation for hockey, as well as new insight into the way the sport is really played, something I can’t say about most sports movies.

After beating up a hockey player at a local game, a simply but earnest bouncer named Doug Glatt (Sean William Scott) is given the opportunity to join a hockey team as a goon, where his sole role is to start and win fights against players on rival teams.  Written by actor Jay Baruchel and veteran comedy writer Evan Goldberg, Goon is genuinely a well-written comedy with some real heart, as well as a movie that inexplicably just makes you smile.  The fighting in this film is often hard hitting and brutal, but strikes a good balance as it’s also often comedic and occasionally borders on slapstick, which adds some much needed levity to a few bloody and harsh fistfights.

Yet another wonderful facet to this little film is the cast, which is full of great, lesser-known actors such as Jay Baruchel as the zany and perverse friend, Allison Pill as the quirky love interest, and Liev Schreiber as the veteran fighter and ultimate rival in the film.  The cast is, of course, led by Sean William Scott, who delivers a solid yet very unique performance as the dimwitted but lovable Doug Glatt. I hope this film will open up more opportunities for these actors, but unfortunately due to the fact that it didn’t make much money, it’ll likely not have an effect on anyone’s career.

When you really look at it, this is a pretty straightforward movie.  Most of the characters are deviations on roles we have seen before, and the movie doesn’t take any real risks as far as plot is concerned. However, what it lacks in creativity, it makes up for in execution, and although this is by no means a classic film, it is one I can see myself watching a few more times.  The content is only helped by the fact that the HD for this movie is fantastic and that it’s conveniently on Netflix instant streaming. So definitely check this one out if you are looking for a quality comedy, with a little bit of hockey thrown in for good measure.

Rating: 4 out of 5

14 thoughts on “Goon Review

  1. Laura Carter July 15, 2012 / 6:49 pm

    I just added this to my instant list. thanks

    • Andrew King July 15, 2012 / 10:22 pm

      Always glad to tell people about new cool movies.

  2. tauromaja July 15, 2012 / 7:01 pm

    I’ll have to check it out. The trailer really didn’t win me over but I’ll give it a shot. No pun intended but there you go.

    • Andrew King July 15, 2012 / 10:22 pm

      It’s probably not a movie for everyone, but I really loved it.

  3. greercn July 15, 2012 / 9:55 pm

    I loved this movie! It’s so Canadian and has such a big heart. I am so pleased that someone else liked it – apart from me and the relatives of the cast and crew. Great review. Thanks!

    • Andrew King July 15, 2012 / 10:20 pm

      It’s a really lovely film and I hope people give it a chance.

  4. robotvampireproductions July 15, 2012 / 11:46 pm

    What’s the matter? Did you just watch Rudy?

    This movie was awesome.

    • Andrew King July 16, 2012 / 1:16 am

      I am not sure what you are getting at with the Rudy thing, but I agree this really is a great movie that more people should be watching right now.

      • robotvampireproductions July 16, 2012 / 5:08 am

        I was quoting from the movie toward the end when his girlfriend showed up crying and he asked her that. It was sweet and funny all at the same time. Goon was a great little movie.

      • Andrew King July 16, 2012 / 12:41 pm

        Oh, of course I remember that now. I was taking that way to literally. It’s been a while since I smiled this much watching a movie.

  5. Elizabeth July 16, 2012 / 2:12 pm

    I have never even heard of this movie. Based on review and comments, hubby and I must see this.

    • Andrew King July 16, 2012 / 3:03 pm

      I hadn’t heard of it until it came out on DVD. It’s definitely one to check out.

  6. phlebasd July 16, 2012 / 11:23 pm

    Have been considering giving this a watch for a while now, think you just convinced me to give it a go, Thanks!

    • Andrew King July 17, 2012 / 12:34 am

      Yeah I would recommend it to pretty much everyone, it’s a fun little film.

Leave a Reply

