Roger Ebert (1942-2013)

I’m sad to announce that a truly great man has died today, a man who was able to spread the greatness of cinema to so many with his beautiful and insightful words. Yes, Roger Ebert has died. The cancer that he’s been battling for so many years has finally consumed him, and he has passed away.

I can’t even begin to express how much this man has personally influenced me. At least, I can say in all confidence that I wouldn’t be here on this website without him. I may have found him relatively late in his career, as I missed much of his show, which granted him fame in the first place, but through the reviews on his website and his incredible blog posts, he really shaped me as a human being.

I remember growing up watching movies everyday and the first thing I would always do after the credits started rolling was run to my laptop and check what Ebert thought. His writing was accessible to a newcomer like I was at the time but also sharp and thoughtful and always hinting at the larger wonder of film. He really acted as a comfortable and fascinating gateway into this weird and amazing world that we call the movies. I’m so totally grateful that he was there when I was growing up, and now I’m filled with a profound sadness to discover that he won’t be there as I continue on as an adult.

If Ebert effected you even close to as much as he effected me than I think you’ll agree with me when I say this is truly a sad day.

One thought on “Roger Ebert (1942-2013)

  1. filmgeekwatching April 5, 2013 / 8:54 am

    I get to know his death by my school’s FB page and I was extremely upset and shocked to hear this tragic news. A part of my cinephile being have just died. We lost Donald Richie few months ago and now him…RIP sweet man

Leave a Reply

